top of page
  • Writer's pictureBill Christon

Though I Know Not What the Future may Hold

Updated: Oct 27, 2020

Frankly speaking, I am not a person who has clear and specific objectives of what my life is going to be. I find this quite paradoxical, though, since I on the other hand am a strictly "judging" person. The term "judging" here is referring to the last aspect of Mayer-Briggs Type Indicator, which is often written in short as "J." Accordingly, being a judger means someone is uncomfortable to go without a plan or schedule. Suppose I am going to spend a vacation. As a judger, it is natural for me to think of the details of the time, activities and places that I would like to have. It is the complete opposite of the perceivers who tend to improvize and decide things rather on the spot.

Therefore whenever asked about what my career planning is, I usually answer that I will work for the Indonesian government, specifically in its Ministry of Education. I know it is a half-baked, if not raw plan, but so far that is what I can think of. I have this longing to be of a contribution to my country in improving its education system which hopefully is feasible after all the learning in the master's degree program. I wish to be a part of Indonesia's curriculum planner team because from what I observe, some reform should be done to the scope and sequence of the current curriculum. Another alternative is to join a similar governmental institution, which is the Education Quality Insurance Institution where I may get the privilege of bringing impact to the teachers across the nation as a teacher trainer.


Imagining working as a curriculum designer there, I still question myself whether I will enjoy that kind of job. For sure, it is going to be 180 degree different from what I have been doing so far; i.e., teaching in classroom. Even until now my passion to educate is still burning bright. In fact, taking a master's program majoring in education at Oulu is igniting it even more. I honestly cannot for the time when I get to apply what I and my coursemates explore: an assortment of learning resources and online teaching methods. Just thinking of the ways students in Indonesia will react thrills me. However, sometimes in order to bring more influence, one has to sacrifice and in my case that is what I should probably wait. After some years, hopefully the curriculum of my country may be able to improve and that is then when I will return to be a teacher again in school. Well, doing it in college is not a bad idea either.

So that is it what I want to share regarding my career path options. I personally wish it can be of some motivation for you and let me know if you have a similar vocation, or maybe there are things you would like to recommend me. Feel free to post a comment or email me.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page