top of page
  • Writer's pictureBill Christon

Words, Numbers and Tech.

Updated: Sep 30, 2020



When asked about my experience in educational technology, I would sum it up into those three terms. "Words" and "Numbers" correspond to the two subjects I have been teaching in these past five years, which are English and math while for "Tech." it is kind of self-explanatory.

Therefore, I did not see technology as a burden-lifter in my career. It made me realize that I have to keep learning and experimenting in order to breathe in the same wavelength with my students. The common sites I utilized in most of my classes would include Youtube for video browsing, Canva for presentation design, Dropbox for file sharing as well as social media like Instagram for collaboration opportunity. Particularly in my English classes, I tried using Quizlet to help students learn vocabulary, Storyboardthat and Powtoon for their storytelling project and also Quizizz as their formative assessment. Meanwhile, I utilized Geogebra and Desmos in my math class for graphing and other visualization. Finally, in the last months of my teaching when the pandemics struck, there was no other option left but to conduct remote teaching using CMS such as Teams, Moodle or Google classroom.e of social media has prolonged the working hour of a teacher by giving chances for students to consult at after-school hours despite the option to read or ignore the message that totally depends on the teacher.

I consider myself lucky being able to teach in an above-average school, in terms of infrastructure. I do know being a teacher in places quite distant from city-life has a great deal of challenges but I also say never underestimate your job in cities, particularly if you are an educator. Although technology makes the lesson delivery more convenient, it doubles the learning pace and truth be told, many times I get exhausted by this. While I spend less time writing on the board and more on showing the presentation slides, I need to prepare it beforehand, considering features that will maintain the attention of my students, who practically spend more hours to play video-game or watch Youtube videos, for no more than ten minutes. For the rest of the session, I need to think of technology-related activities which if it is something new it means I have to try it as well. In addition, the rise of social media has prolonged the working hour of a teacher by giving chances for students to consult at after school hour despite the option to read or ignore the message that totally depends on the teacher.

Therefore, I did not see technology as a burden-lifter in my career. It made me realize that I have to keep learning and experimenting in order to breathe in the same wavelength with my students. The common sites I utilized in most of my classes would include Youtube for video browsing, Canva for presentation design, Dropbox for file sharing as well as social media like Instagram for collaboration opportunity. Particularly in my English classes, I tried using Quizlet to help students learn vocabulary, Storyboardthat and Powtoon for their storytelling project and also Quizizz as their formative assessment. Meanwhile, I utilized Geogebra and Desmos in my math class for graphing and other visualization. Finally, in the last months of my teaching when the pandemics struck, there was no other option left but to conduct remote teaching using CMS such as Teams, Moodle or Google classroom.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page